Here is the original version of When I Grow Up (To Be a Man) by the Beach Boys. Maybe Chano from the 3rd World House blog can do an analysis of this song just like did for Prince’s I Would Die 4 U. He wrote a very good post about songwriting. I urge you to check it out here.

I love this song for many reasons. It is so simple yet very complex. I love the harmonies. Its like a symphony of voices, all fighting in sync to be heard. I love the sound. I love the falsetto voices. I love the lyrics, especially now with what is happening in my life. The lyrics are sweet, short, and profound. A thought from youth–how will I be when I grow up? What kind of man will I be? What will my kids think of me? And finally, an acknowledgment that time marches on and won’t last forever.

I have asked the same questions of myself. What kind of man did I turn out to be? I am cognizant of the fact that my youth, and my child’s youth, won’t last forever. So I better make the most of it. Thank you Mr. Brian Wilson for your song.