This baby is eating lots of cereal and fruits and vegetables! That is my observation so far. As an expecting mother, my wife is eating lots of bowls of cereal. Honey Nut Cheerios to be exact. Way more cereal than she used to eat before being pregnant. I think its because her body is asking for lots and lots of calcium which the milk over the cereal provides.

Mom-to-be is also eating tons of fruit and vegetables. I can’t keep enough fruit in stock at home. I would say lots of bananas (at least two a day), grapes, apples (I buy Fuji and Gala apples–she won’t eat the Granny Smith), oranges, nectarines, and whatever else is fresh. Yesterday, I bought a bag of fresh cherries that were on sale at Vons Supermarket and the bag is almost completely empty already.

I buy most of my fresh produce at Vallarta Supermarket in Oxnard. They have the best and freshest produce that I have found, a wide variety, and at very low prices. You can’t be it in these parts. And, contrary to stereotype, Vallartas is a Latino supermarket that is very super clean and doesn’t smell like “Mexican Market”. If you’ve ever gone to a old, crusty Mexican Market or carniceria in the neighborhood, you know the “Mexican Market” smell as soon as you enter the door or simply walk by on the street in front of their open entrance. In fact, I have observed that Vallartas always has at least one or two persons on clean up duty full-time.

My wife is also eating a lot of carrots right now. I like to peel the carrots and then cut them up in little pieces and put them in sandwich bags, which I then put in the refrigerator. She can then eat the fresh little carrot sticks or snack on them anytime she likes.

I’ll have you know that I am in charge of peeling and cutting all fruit and vegetables in the house. It helps to have a sharp knife and a good cutting block made out of wood. It makes the process much easier and pleasurable. I’ve read that a wood cutting block will not dull your knife (like a plastic cutting block will do) and I believe it to be true. I am also in charge of shopping for groceries even though 99% of the time we go grocery shopping together. Believe it or not, I really enjoy grocery shopping. I get excited over freshly baked bread, fresh tortillas or a really good find in the produce section. And I love seeing all the different chiles (both fresh and dried) and spices. Food diversity I tell ya. I think I get that from my Dad who always did the grocery shopping when I was growing up.

A friend told us that when she was pregnant, her body rejected all the bad, greasy food and she only wanted to eat healthy food. She told us that it felt like her body was trying to prepare for the pregnancy and developing baby by eating only healthy foods. From my experience so far, I believe that to be true in our case. My wife is craving a lot of fruits and vegetables like never before. At the same time, she does not crave ice cream or greasy food (as you often see in the movies). In fact, she almost vomited when we passed a McDonald’s restaurant recently and she got a whiff of the greasy fried food. We also read that a study found that your baby will end up eating and liking the foods that the mother ate when she was pregnant. Makes sense to me and seems very logical. So hopefully, the baby will like lots of fruits and vegetables when growing up!